Super simple sponge (cake)

by sophielola

Happy Easter my cheeky bunnies – although I’m not too happy with having lost an essential   hour of sleep!

Today at 8am, to fit around a busy schedule and of course the sunday morning gym session, I have already been busy in the kitchen making my favourite Super Simple Sponge

It’s a regularly requested bake but doesn’t last long in our house – lucky it takes no time at all to make! Sometimes you just need a timeless classic

Start with collecting together your ingredients. I have to do this because otherwise I would forget something vital, and I think it just helps keep things stress free when you know you have everything out and ready.

i'm so tidy. thanks

i’m so tidy. thanks

Ingredients

  • 250g/6oz self raising flour
  • 250/6oz caster sugar
  • 250g/6oz softened butter
  • 3 eggs
  • vanilla essence
  • an oven, preheated to 180C/350F/Gas Mark 4
  • Cake tin. pick a shape. then line it (butter and greaseproof paper)

What next?

Just mix it all together. Cream the butter and sugar into a smooth paste before beating in the eggs (one at a time please!). Then all you need to do is fold in the flour. Done!

I actually took this a step further (considering I’m now a level 2 cook) and decided to make a marble cake. All you need to do is add cocoa powder to half the  mix and splodge it around in your lined cake tin.

super simple sponge - cake mixes

super simple sponge - marbled

It almost looks like a professional did this, don’t you think?

Bake for 26 minutes (check using a knife and see if it comes out clean) and then leave to cool.

super simple sponge - cookedYummy. I kind of took a bite after taking this picture.

Then covered it in buttercream icing.

Definitely one that requires a cup of tea. Enjoy!

super simple sponge - iced

because i’m such a babe – here’s a printable version of this essential recipe – Super simple sponge – print out

 

 

